Love Parts

I can’t really look straight at the Haiti disaster, or let it in. It seems the heart is asked to do this over and over: To try and encompass all the human groans and turmoil, all that it can bear before bursting.

Each day is this way. It takes years to understand why we count each joy, each christening so carefully. Takes years to know why the moments of laughter, communion, joy, must be noted, felt. When you’re young  you think there will be a million of those moments coming.

But they aren’t endless. Beads on a string. Something beautiful to hold onto beneath an avalanche of loss.

If you’re experiencing what I do some days, a swamping of your person under the groan and twist of the human condition, remember the rule of One:

Instead of trying to understand all the people who suffered today, think of just one face, one person, one heart. Send your comfort out to that one. Take care of them. Give them your prayer, your consideration, your love.

This is how a tragedy becomes human, and grows small enough to eventually encompass. This is how we help each other heal.

13 thoughts on “Love Parts

  1. Pingback: Reflecting on the need of so many in Haiti « a UU Deist in Texas

  2. Perfectly said. I was feeling like this last night upon the realization that on top of all the tragedy in Haiti, one friend is dying of cancer now – officially dying, and another has a brain tumor that does not look good (do any brain tumors look GOOD?). Both are as far away physically from me as the people of Haiti so I feel about as useless over this turn of events.

    All I could do was send out messages of love to each of them, knowing full well that I will never see them again IRL. It shatters me.

  3. I’ve found myself unable to watch the news reports, save a very few. I’ve taken myself away from all of that because right now I need healing before I can help others. I did write a post yesterday that I thought could be my way to encourage at least one person to make a donation. That’s all I have been able to do.

    I know it will pass and I will once again be able to make some move toward helping these people or perhaps survivors of some other tragedy, man made or natural. Right now I can’t. I need to take care of my very small circle, and myself.

    And I agree with the others. You are a very wise soul.

  4. These huge tragedies, caused in part by man, in part by God, are the most devastating to me. The most painful, because there is the ‘what if” hanging over us like an Acme Anvil. What if these people weren’t so damn poor, so that there were a decent infrastructure there to support them. What if our God were truly all powerful AND all loving, so that earthquakes like this would not happen. It’s enough to drive a person crazy.

    My approach is different than yours, though yours is beautiful and valid. I prefer to think of a blanket of hope and love covering all of those that are in trouble and in pain. A large comfort for them in this time. I fear that by signaling someone out, I ignore the rest. I do not mean to push that upon anyone. It’s just my way of coping. Odd in that I’m an atheist, and don’t believe in God anyway. Events like this are a large, very large, part of why.

    Regarding your previous post, where comments are closed. Forgive me for commenting anyway. I met my father when I was 21. (I’m 44…I’ve known him over half of my life now, which is a wonderful thing.) There will never not be a ‘what if’ in our relationship. What if we had had at least summers together, time to grow up with my sisters, time to see him young, time to fight and resent and love and laugh, something like that. But he is SO important to me, such a wonderful person in my life, such a role model and a wonderful father. He came to me late. But he came. And I am glad.

  5. I can’t bear to watch the news if they are talking about Haiti. I donated money to the red cross to alleviate my guilt for remaining ignorant of their horrific tragedy. Is there such a thing as being a cold hearted philanthropist?

  6. I just found you through Julian. Your writing is amazing. May I please quote this post during a service I’ll be offering at my Unitarian church on the theme of “nurture your spirit, help heal our world”?

  7. Interesting. Of the two people closest to me, the first has chosen to comfort the one behind their face, and the second has chosen to comfort the one behind same face. The holder of second placed face has lost their own face. The tragedy being, the first will admit this is true of the second but still feels a need to deny it.

Leave a Reply

