Rather Remarkable

I know it’s pretty natural for a parent to boast a bit about their child’s accomplishments, and maybe see signs of greatness in small, rather commonplace things.

However-

However, I am about to indulge in a little wonderment, cus I couldn’t hardly believe something Sierra did yesterday, just as casually as could be.

If you’ve never seen the film ‘Ratatouille’ by Pixar, it’s a pretty entertaining use of a couple hours. We saw this film in the theater, and since then we’ve seen it twice on movie channels. My daughter may have additionally watched parts of it at a friend’s house.

Yesterday, she was downstairs watching hip-hop videos on YouTube in my room, and I was upstairs, sort of reading, and sort of watching Ratatouille again on t.v. My daughter came to the bottom of the stairs to call up a question, and she went, “Oh! You’re watching Ratatouille!”

I’m going to show you the clip that was playing here in a moment. At the time she called up, none of the characters were talking. It was kind of cool that she derived the movie from the score, but not like- amazing or anything. It’s pretty distinctive.

But then-

She went on to say what the action was, with pauses- kind of like punctuation in the clip. I was like- “Cool.” on the first one, but then- my eyes got really wide. She described stuff like, ‘He almost got flamed by the oven.’ ‘The guy shut the window.’ I started to prompt her at that point. “What now?” “Luigi hates the soup.” And then she didn’t talk for a bit. I think, like so often happens with kids, my getting involved made her promptly lose interest, so she ended with, “Now he’s looking at the mouse.” and then went back to her videos.

Understand, there is hardly any dialogue in the whole scene, just music and a few sounds that might give hints. I bounded down the stairs, just to check- wondering if somehow she had Ratatouille playing on the computer, or what. Nope, just hip-hop. “What mom?”

“Nothin.”

You try. Watch this clip, starting from where the mouse falls through the window.

Could you do that? Try it with your eyes closed. I knew she had really good pitch, and tends to be sensitive to loud sounds. Both me and my brother are auditory types, too- but I couldn’t do that. I rely on dialogue for that kind of thing.

It just struck me as kind of amazing.

5 thoughts on “Rather Remarkable

  1. Don’t hit me now, but I’ve never seen it. Well except for this little clip now. I couldn’t do it. Even if I watched it multiple times. I’ve never been good at that type of thing. My youngest figured out Dora Couldn’t really hear her from day one. Kinda made me smile.

    As to listening to Hip Hop….When I was….younger I swore I would stay with music trends and not be like so many parents who hate the music there kids listen to. Well I failed. But my oldest can here a song once and then go back and work it out on the piano when she feels like it. Opps speaking of kids not sure whats going on but the youngest is upstairs crying at her sisters door…..

  2. Pretty neat. Kids are amazing. They can listen or watch something once and remember it vividly. I never saw the movie either and I’m not an auditory type so I could never do it, nor would I even try. Kids are a different type of creature entirely.

  3. No way I could do that. I think I’m too mental, and so I’ve never been able to have that kind of recall with movies nor books. My daughter does…blow by blow. It absolutely amazes me.

Leave a Reply

