Baby Dragons

Here is the picture I didn’t use for today’s header, cus I couldn’t quite figure how to make it fit:

dragonsea

 

Anyway, I’m pleased with what I’ve got, though that one there mightily appealed to me cus of the mischievous expression of the dragon, and the lovely, stalwart tilt of the hapless ship about to be pounded.

So like, I am a dragon.

Seriously, just respect my hoard, and we’ll be cool and stuff.

No, it’s a Chinese Zodiac thing. I just made it under the fence… if the New Year had started a little earlier in 1977, I would have been a snake.

Ssss.

What, you don’t buy into those things, you say?

Well, I wouldn’t either if I’d been born a rat or a pig or a boar, but having the Chinese calendar all ‘I dub thee, dragon’ gives the situation a polish of legitimacy (for me).

Dragons are pistols, I guess. You cross a dragon with an Aquarius, and you get some really good and really bad traits, amplified. The hybrid I’m most likely to fight to the death with would be a Tiger-Leo (< also hump to death) or a Snake-Scorpion, my zodiac worst enemy.  I will largely ignore Rat-Geminis, and Horse- Cancers… though I get along with half the horoscope of monkeys and dogs.

 

Nothing is mentioned here, there or anywhere about Aquarian-Dragons and Aries-Sheep, but I’m here to tell you it’s good… very good. Or maybe star-signs really have fuck-all to do with inter-personal outcomes.

What do you think? What’s your sign? Do you have a fatal-love sign? Are you pretty sure you’re going to get offed by a Gemini? Do you put any store by these things at all?

Curious. 

*find your Chinese Zodiac sign

 

chinese-zodiac-chart

 

Fewmet means dragon-dropping by the way. Just thought you’d like to know that.

15 thoughts on “Baby Dragons

  1. You *do* know I’m a Rat-Gemini, yes? ;-)

    I tend to think there’s a little something to astrology. My current squeeze is a Sagittarius-Sheep, both of which are excellent on-paper matches for me. And I’ve had disasters with the two Scorpios I dated, and not much luck with the Virgo, either … and those are “no-no” signs for Gemini, according to traditional wisdom.

    And can I just say … is it just me, or is Aries-Sheep kind of redundant?

  2. Capricorn-Dragon here :-) I’ve always loved that. My favorite book to read the my kids is a set of poems by Jack Prelutsky called “The Dragons are Singing Tonight”

    I tend to take what I like and ditch what I don’t from these things. I’ve found the compatibility things to be pure drivel. Not just on Chinese years but also with sun signs (remember the book Love Signs? I drowned in that thing and then realized…umm..this is crap!) My mates have been Taurus (disaster, however, that’s my best friends sign and I adore her), Leo (not a disaster, but obviously not a great long term love. I’m surrounded by them tho and love them as friends), and now Virgo. Virgo-Pig to be exact. I can tell you right now that 10 years ago if you had told me that the one who really DOES feel like my forever love would be a Virgo I would have told you to stop talking out of your ass! Male Virgos? Ewwww!

    Whatever eh?

    But as far as giving you a peek into some of your own personality tendencies? Yeah, I think it does kinda click.

  3. Another Ratty Gemini here.

    I read through the Rat thing, and what always strikes me is how true it is (in lots of details too, the following is spot on for me: ‘One can always tell when Rats are upset. They become edgy,very nervous, and quite nagging. Rats are always taken by a bargain. They often buy things they don’t need and tend to save everything. Souvenirs and sentimental odds and ends are found tucked away everywhere.’).

    So it’s very accurate for me, same goes for the Gemini things (mostly).

    But then I look around at all the people I grew up with who were born in the same year. We were all so different, so unique, and I was one of the ones most like a Rat, by the definition on that horoscope.

    It’s less true for geminis, I’ve met loads, and lots of us are similar, but again, nowhere near all. I know plenty of one-sided geminis.

    Anyway, it bothers me that it seems accurate for me, despite me thinking its inherently nonsense.

    That picture is gorgeous by the way.

  4. David- I didn’t, no. You don’t seem like a rat sign to me. But I don’t know the traits that well.

    Yeah, Aries sheep is certainly.. in line. I don’t know, it seems like if there’s nothing to it there’s an awful lot of coincidences.

    My fatal love sign used to be virgo, but I kicked the habit. Thank goodness.

    tp- a fellow dragon! Oh, you have the virgo thread too, huh? Good or bad, virgos sure seem to make an impression.

    I think a lot of people approach these as you do… it’s kinda the way I approach the bible. Take out of it what seems important and relevant, and sort of ignore the rest.

    mad- Rawr! You’re so nice. I was ridiculously proud of my ‘purty page’.

    Hiya Alaby. That nearly last sentence, yup… you nailed it. Seems to be the consensus… a thinking sort is going to be really reluctant to put credence into the astrology stuff. It’s fun. But meant to be nonsense.

    Just, sometimes it’s so eerily right on.

  5. THIS IS ME. My other half is still rolling round laughing at this…….if I had to write myself up in an honest paragraph, this is what I’d put. I’ve noted the similarities before………weird:

    Sheep are the good samaritans of the Chinese zodiac. They are gentle mannered and on the shy side. Being very sincere they are easily taken by a sob story. Sheep people are compassionate,understanding of others’ faults, and quick to forgive.

    Sheep like to set their own hours and will not tolerate too much discipline. They are also very offended if they are criticized. They cannot work well under pressure and must be allowed to do things at their own speed. Sheep need somebody to discipline them, though, in order to utilize their talents. They usually find someone to look after and care for them.

    Good fortune smiles upon the sheep. They benefit from wills and inheritances. Even in the roughest of times, the Sheep always acquire the basic needs. Sheep get their own way without force or violence. They have that passive endurance that drives you mad. Eventually they wear you down with their pleas.You just can’t break them!

    Sheep never come right out and discuss what’s bothering them. You pry it out of them bit by bit. When all else fails, yell at them, and bang things around. They should be impressed and might unfold all their secret woes; then, you can clear the air. The Sheep are family people. They never forget anyone’s birthday, and you had better not forget theirs! Sheep worry, too. They want others to cheer them up and tell them everything will be okay.

    Sheep overspend and should avoid dealing with money. They find it hard to be practical and would love a life of luxury and ease. Ugly things will depress Sheep. They hate to displease anyone especially their loved ones. They will edge around an issue rather than take a firm stand. Difficulties are a delicate issue with Sheep. They are too sensitive and often overreact. Reassure them often.

    Romance is a part of the Sheep’s being. Moonlight and roses, soft music and candlelight will get them every time. They tend to view the world through rose-colored glasses. Sheep do not usually have to work hard. Good things just happen naturally. They need bright, airy surroundings and excel in creative fields. Appreciation of their talents make Sheep glow, and with encouragement, they can go far in life.

  6. Apparently I am an Earth Tiger-Aquarius. Who knew? The “earth” part makes me calmer, though still fierce. I like that. Nobody knows when I’ll pounce. :-) These things are fun and eerily dead on in too many areas to be happenstance — maybe. At any rate they are entertaining.

    Your pictures are a real treat. I’d come here for them even if you weren’t a whirlagig act all by yourself.

  7. I’m a Taurus-Snake, and my ex-wife was a Sagittarius-Dragon. That should have worked out, but what do the stars know?

    My girlfriend is a Sagittarius-Rooster. Not cock, but rooster. :P

    I always wished I was a rat. I am more like a rat than a snake.

  8. How big does your header need to be let me know and I might be able to work a litte magic on that pic.

    Now for all that zodiac mumbo jumbo…hmmm hits close to the belt mostly….

    Sagittarius-Ox
    Sagittarius is the more buoyant, peppy sign. It is quite curious, adventurous and enterprising. It can sometimes be a little restless, perhaps impatient. Personal freedom is quite important in this sign, and these natives do not appreciate suffocating or oppressive situations. There’s often a great love of travel. Being rather confident in itself, in a difficult chart it can become quite patronizing, conceited, strongly opinionated or dogmatic.

    It is mostly a learned sign, focused and zealous in whatever piques its curiosity. It tends to be visionary and far-sighted, able to go to great lengths and make things happen, if it really wants to. These natives can be quite bold. It tends to be a humorous sign, sometimes somewhat childish in demeanor. Sagittarians are social creatures by nature, but a more reserved focus in the chart can have some exception to this.

    There’s a philosophical inclination in this sign, and often a basic positive and rather optimistic character. A sense of fair play is usually prominent here, and with serious SaturnSaturn influences it often seeks to find its vocation in judicial affairs.

    Unlike other signs, notably the earth ones, Sagittarius usually does not require a lot to feel good with himself. It can nevertheless get distressed by unusual adversity. Even if all is good, it does like to dream and push himself to something bigger. It still needs a well-focussed chart to truly push this to some bigger, successful conclusion.

    The Ox is thought to be the sign of prosperity through fortitude and hard work. The Ox is a power sign, like the Rat, Snake, Dragon, Tiger, and Monkey. They’re quite dependable and possess an innate ability to achieve great things. As one might guess, such people are dependable, calm, and modest. Like their animal namesake, the Ox is unswervingly patient, tireless in their work, and capable of enduring any amount of hardship without complaint.

    Ox people, according to tradition, need peace and quiet to work through their ideas, and when they have set their mind on something it is hard for them to be convinced otherwise. An Ox person has a very logical mind and is extremely systematic in whatever they do, though they have a tremendous imagination and an unparalleled appreciation for beauty. These people speak little but are extremely intelligent. When necessary, they are articulate and eloquent.

    Traditionally, people born under the influence of the Ox are thought to be kind, caring souls, logical, positive, filled with common sense and with their feet firmly planted on the ground. Security is their main preoccupation in life, and they are prepared to toil long and hard in order to provide a warm, comfortable and stable nest for themselves and their families. Strong-minded, stubborn, individualistic, the majority are highly intelligent individuals who don’t take kindly to being told what to do.

    The Ox, it is thought, works hard, patiently, and methodically, with original intelligence and reflective thought. These people enjoy helping others. Behind this tenacious, laboring, and self-sacrificing exterior lies an active mind.

  9. I’m a Sagittarius-Dog married to a Capricorn-Sheep. Now there’s a combination. lol!

    I don’t know if I take this stuff seriously, but I do find it interesting. I once had a couples chart done for my husband and me. (It was a favor to a friend who had studied astrology for years and was trying to make a living at it). The basics of it were that we were totally incompatible. There was an “unless” in there: Unless we lived close to water. I don’t remember what the living close to water was supposed to do for us or how it made us compatible. It’s interesting to note that our last couple of moves have placed us in homes close to water (the Ohio River in one place and the pond where we are now), and our vacations, weekend trips, etc., usually take us near, on, or in the water. Oh, and we met near water (at the Jersey shore).

    I can’t say if it’s the water or what, but we will be celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary this year.

  10. Robin, you reminded me of the time friends entered data from my husband and me into some techie thing. All the lights on it started flashing furiously and they were whooping and yelling. When they calmed down we found out that meant absolute compatibility. They had been putting dummy numbers in it ad infinitum to try to get that response. Wish I could remember what the device was, because it certainly was right.

  11. Robin & anhinga- I got a grin out of those stories. Well, uber-compatible or highly incompatible, they must be pretty great guys if they held onto such special ladies.

    lea-Kelley- I’m not surprised at *all* that you’re an aquarius- artistic to the tippy toes.

    Rao- K, I read through that, and while based on somewhat back-aways history, I agreed with a good portion. It jived. And I did look at a few others… if it had called you a rat or a rooster, I’d totally disagree. So it isn’t just that they’re so vague they apply to anyone.

    I don’t know exactly what size the header would hafta be… I’m sure there’s a way to find out on here, but it eludes me.

    Jaynova- Taurus-snake is an awfully weird pairing. I don’t think snake fits, either… maybe you were born on the wrong year!

    anhinga- another aquarius! We do have a lot in common. I think tiger’s are pretty cool. If i couldn’t be a dragon, I’d be a tiger- but in relationships I’ve dated tigers and always butted heads with them. Too similar, I guess.

  12. jo- *grins* fits that well, huh? I have a soft spot in my heart for sheep, what with my sheep year honey and an Aries brother. I’d love to know who came up with the characteristics for these, and how.

Leave a Reply

