Anti-Climatic

It might be no good.

I know, cus you count the hours
and I’m busy
trying to lose them.

I was thinking maybe
I’d pull off the most amazing coup
somehow

and be with you forever
and nobody would know…

maybe nobody would notice

that the shade reinvented itself
to be with the sun.

The universe and I conspired
to hatch the plan
under cover of lost moments
stitched together.

The weight of shadows, though,
tells my heart
there are alternate endings here.

Often, the bandit gets caught…

and hung in the square

where his mask is stripped
and the mystic falls from his aura
to settle in the cracks of the sidewalk.

People laugh at what we’re trying to do.

In my defense, I was trying to write a story
and bring a magic shape
to all of us.

I forged something to believe in
while my own faith shook
like weak pillars.

The hand trembles. Words, inevitable words are forced forward:

You are the sun.

I won’t be cruel, and name myself by contrast, but

You are the Sun.

3 thoughts on “Anti-Climatic

  1. I love this one… the oppositional forces at hand, a little magic in the presentation… worthy of even the best alchemist, in a land where nothing quite as it seems.

    “The universe and I conspired
    to hatch the plan
    under cover of lost moments
    stitched together.”

    Pure magic, Amuirin… thanks for sharing this with us.

Leave a Reply

