Olly Olly Oxen Free

Step out of hiding for a minute. It’s an interesting week here. Not dramatic, not bad exactly, ..maybe good in a potentially job-well-done sort of way.

Still, seems a good idea to keep my web presence somewhat active so this place doesn’t turn into a ghost town.

Couple of things: Thank you Robin, and Norm. Robin for a thing of beauty… I won’t be more specific just here. But- ty.

Norm, for a generous offer to listen that I’ll probably take up and something you said which struck me- the gist was: You get out of the process what you put into it. So go ahead and immerse yourself in that.

Creative weebles might want to throw down some Haiku over at Mad’s joint. He’s got a daisy-chain challenge, and all it costs you is 17 syllables.

And- I’d like you all to meet Rao. I’m pretty fearless about dubbing new blog-pals weebles, but I’m not sure he’d let me call him that. Rao is a friend… from long ago… from my high school days! We connected again thanks to the magic of the internet.

It’s hard not to call him by his real name, actually, such is the power of his personality; but- by means of introduction, ‘Rao’ happens to be the person I spent the day with the one and only time I played *real* hooky from highschool. (Senior year it wasn’t uncommon to skip a couple periods at the end of the day, or even the whole afternoon, but I always went to go get my checkmark for attendance in the morning.)

If memory serves me right… we ended up talking about nothing and everything, watching bad t.v. and playing the boardgame ‘LIFE’. And I explained to Rao, who was the only friend I had at that time who would have understood, why I didn’t choose to involve my boyfriend in the whole skipping school scheme…

I kinda needed a little break from that intensity.

Yup. I remember that day really well. Kinda cool that he’s writing now, and he’s writing some great stuff, so go say hello at his site if you get the chance.

I’m thrashed, so that’s all for the time being.

Beat the odds, and enjoy your Tuesday.

-A.

6 thoughts on “Olly Olly Oxen Free

  1. Love the last line. Tuesday is one of my least favorite days of the week. I’m willing to try something different, “beat the odds,” and enjoy my Tuesday. :)

    You’re welcome.

    Norm is a very wise man. I’m glad I stopped by here this morning as I needed to read the gist of what struck you.

  2. Wow!! Compliments from two of the women I admire most!! I bow down to you both. I sit here smiling and happy I stopped by.

    That’s the thing of it; once we’ve identified a problem we can’t be truly satisfied until we’ve applied ourselves to a solution and engaged in the process of change. Only then can we know inner peace and attain a sense of accomplishment. ‘Progress not perfection’…..

    The offer stands whether it is next week or 6 months down the road.

    Time to go meet Rao.

  3. Playing hooky is good for the soul.

    “talking about nothing and everything, watching bad t.v. and playing the boardgame ‘LIFE’. And I explained to Rao, who was the only friend I had at that time who would have understood, why I didn’t choose to involve my boyfriend in the whole skipping school scheme…”

    Sounds like a bad Seinfeld episode, but sometimes you have to get away from everything you normally do to look back at the big picture.

    Thanks for the shout out too.

Leave a Reply

