Reading the News

There are ice-storms in Massachusetts,
and to the north, a valley full of flood.
Newsprint records the span of the world’s fits and tempers
but my mind doesn’t register that much.

I’m just saying that the magnitude can conquer
the fine intercession of the soul:
You can care for an hour, or a measure, or a moment
but then you’re just an ember in the cold.

Wait- We are all composed of moments
that erase like a dream-dismantled touch.
I glimpse the vast picture in a brief illumination,
but it dissolves when I recognize too much.

There’s a reason for this ache, this endless bleeding;
it’s not something that the mind will understand,
but it sounds in the space between the pulmonary surge
and the brush of your hand against a hand.

There are ice-storms in Massachusetts,
and in the north, a valley full of flood.
My heart spares a beat for today’s worried families
in hopes that it will do some good.

4 thoughts on “Reading the News

  1. Wait- We are all composed of moments
    that erase like a dream-dismantled touch.

    Beautiful. All of it. But I liked those lines the best. Mind if I use them as a quote with one of my photos?

  2. J- Thank you. :)

    Robin- I’d be honored.

    mad- I’m torn between a graceful ty and the need to deny, vigorously, that I’m any good at it compared to some of the people on the list over there.

    but that made me smile

Leave a Reply

