Snow

It’s 2 a.m. I haven’t written in awhile. Too much in my head, I guess, hard stuff to put on a page. There’s a lot of less focal things to write about, but what with Christmas baking and a lot of staring out the window…

Today, the house was quiet for a little. The movie ‘City of Angels’ was on, that movie always kind of gets me. I was watching, and I happened to look out the window.

Yeah, we had snow last Sunday, yeah, but it came in the night.

This was the most perfect snow- large, fluffy flakes, and there was this wild, swirling wind, and it seemed to dance out there.

I want to dance. Dance in the snow. Lay my cheek against a warm chest, or, I don’t know…

Dance.

Maybe someday soon.

12 thoughts on “Snow

  1. I know you are tired of hearing me laud you writing, but, “lay my cheek against a warm chest” just says so much in so few words, the mark of a true writer.

    Go make a snowman.

  2. City of Angels always makes me cry no matter how many times I see it. Have you ever seen Wings of Desire (the original City of Angels)?
    Wow, put that movie on next to a snow scene window in a quiet house and it’s no wonder you are feeling so… poetic.

  3. When I’m feeling like you are, I stay away from those movies, like City of Angels.

    Put some music on and dance. I do that sometimes. I grab a stuffed bear or a pillow and I dance.

    I’m really getting tired of the snow. I can’t go any place. Enough. Now we’re bracing for an ice storm here.

  4. it’s raining, raining, raining here. I’ve had to do a couple things outside (I brewed yesterday, and left some equipment outside) and when I went out to finish up, the dogs follow me, then go back under the deck roof and watch.

    As if to say: Why are you out there in the wet?

    Why, indeed? If it was snow, I’d take them for a walk.

    Ah, well. Stay warm, A.

  5. You just reminded me to stop… and wander…

    You’ve probably read it, but it’s been a while since I wandered back to my dance with the snow queen…

    http://bountifulhealing.wordpress.com/2007/01/11/dancing-with-the-snow-queen/

    I don’t mention it to promote anything other than the dance of this time of the year. She’s there….dance with Her.

    (psst…there was no long flannel nightgown. I’m not sure why I changed the story. A moment of grandma-ism, I think.)

Leave a Reply

