Editing-in: Accidental photography captures

People make fantastic subjects of photography. Especially when they aren’t posing. In the last couple months, I’ve been collecting some ‘accidental’ pictures. What happens is, I take the picture of something specific, and it turns out disappointing. Before I chuck it, I kinda look at it more closely and see if editing will make a difference- editing often does. But sometimes I find something even more interesting going on in the background.

Building on that idea, now and again in a crowded place I’ll just take a couple snapshots to look at later, and see if something interesting emerges.

Here’s some people pictures. First the ‘saved by editing’ ones, then the background surprises, and a couple of random crowd discoveries.

le menu

le menu

Less color was more in this cropped restaurant capture. ^

shadow shy

shadow shy

I loved Si’s expressive posture, but the photograph was lackluster. Contrast and saturation made the sky less murky, and added drama to the shot.

don't shoot

don't shoot

This was not the picture I envisioned, but maybe it’s better. A closer look revealed that the whole picture works together to communicate.

The ballerina

The ballerina

No, this was not the subject of my shot, but it’s amazing. The attitude conveyed in posture, the expressions- I could not have created a better scene with trained actors.

sniffles

sniffles

In truth, a nose-wipe wasn’t the picture I was hoping for…

….but there was something kinda cool in the background.

Disney throng

Disney throng

Just a typical crazy day at Disney.

tongue'n'cheek

tongue'n'cheek

But what wonderful faces. The older man and woman have clearly had enough of all the ruckus. The girl’s poking her tongue out, matter of factly, and that little white hat is so cute, about to be enveloped by the crowd.

Pirate Caribbean bridge

Pirate Caribbean bridge

People, people everywhere.

The four winds family

The four winds family

I thought it was kinda striking how each member of this party pointed in a different direction…

playin'

playin'

… and of course, the youngest is in his own little world.

Finally:

Uptown Universal

Uptown Universal

A picture of all the bustling activity in the commercial part of Universal Studios. But look closer…

hip-hop toddler

hip-hop toddler

This is the image you don’t see on m.t.v. Daddy’s got a hip black diaper bag over his shoulder, youngster’s sporting the baggy pants, just like daddy. A cool cubs onesy, fly posse… it’s all good.

14 thoughts on “Editing-in: Accidental photography captures

  1. i LOVE “le menu”. Beautiful, wonderful image. When i was shooting photographic art, i think one of my shortcomings was I was always trying to compose within the frame. If it didn’t turn out that way I would scrap the image.

    I wonder how many cool shots would have turned up had I given in to cropping deeper into the negative. Cool shots, Am.

  2. Great post. That’s what cool about photographs/photography – you always get more than you expect, you have to look deeper.

    I agree, the Le Menu shoot is amazing.

  3. Look at all the photographers checking in. :D

    I love these, Am. Le Menu is one of my favorites, too. As Stevo said, amazing.

    It’s amazing what you can find when you start looking in the background. Most of my good shots are accidental. Or involved a bit of cropping.

  4. Count me in as another fan of “le menu”. But, I also really like “sniffles”. You see a nose wipe, I see something quite mysterious. Is she sad? Surprised? What is going on in that girl’s head.

  5. That’s the eye of the artist, I think…to be able to pick out and see if there’s more there than meets the eye. Excellent.

    My favorite is the hip hop toddler. SO cute. And I go smooshy for dads and kids anyway.

  6. I love your mind. It’s good to catch up, to visit here and read back through the postings I’ve missed. Oh, yeah, change is a bear. It isn’t so much the roller coaster of life that throws me. I cope with big and small external changes pretty easily. It’s when I want to change something in me – habit, attitude, grouchiness, stop eating sugar, that kind of thing. I’ll make a decision to work on something today and by tomorrow I’ve forgotten I set out to change something. That part is discouraging. But on a brighter note it’s good to be back in the studio. Thanks for your note.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Round-up | Photography | Asian Ramblings | Photography Articles

Leave a Reply

