The Importance of Pastrami

At different times in my life I have craved different things: Answers, understanding, love, freedom, sex, comfortable shoes, peace, leather upholstery, a car that worked properly, career success, luck & skin with some component of melanin in it. Different desires arising at different phases of existence, characterizing the particular slant of my outlook at the time.

All these desires eventually fade, though. I’ve pretty much always had what I really needed to get by in life. But there is one craving that has been a constant, and the satiation of this particular desire never recedes in the pleasure it embarks. Countless times I have felt the need of this same thing, and countless times the fulfillment of this need has given me an overwhelming sense of warmth and well-being.

Therefore I say to you: Never underestimate the power of a really good sandwich.

8 thoughts on “The Importance of Pastrami

  1. See this is why I love you……..I think sandwiches are hugely underrated as a cuisine….nothing beats a really good sandwich, that sensation of sinking your teeth through layers of flavour. Delicious……..

  2. Yea, I agree… there’s nothing like a good sandwich. I think I’ve got the neighbor lady talked into it, but now I have to convince my wife.

    Did I mention she hates white bread?

Leave a Reply

