A toast to You

Hi, hey, New Year’s Eve, woo! The calendar’s toast to tipplers.  Christmas never settled sentimental over me this year, and I’m not feeling the ruminative bent of New Years, either. Not really. 

We’re gone again, if you’re wondering why I’m so snooty and not visiting and reading. We left Sunday afternoon to go to the city, see the lights, enjoy the particularly city-ish slant of party time. We just got back from a trip, but I’ve been feeling driven to go. Restless.

For me, I think the New Year is in the fall. When school starts, when the hazy days of summer sharpen their focus, and sweaters come out. By January, stuff is already pointed in the direction it will be going for awhile. I’m pointed in some directions. But it’s not a lonesome venture, either. You don’t change in a vacuum. I’ve been kind intrigued how ideas, opportunities, and perspectives come from people around me and add to my conclusions of what needs to happen next. It’s like you add stuff to your personal structure brick by brick (that isn’t a metaphor for building walls up… I mean things/people/ experiences/ that add to who you are, help you clarify what it is that makes you you).

It’s really hard to get anywhere singularly. If anything, New Years seems like a good time to credit the people in my life who have helped me figure out who I am, and what I think is important. People who help me believe that life has beauty and purpose. Those writers I read here from day to day, particularly the ones I’ve had the opportunity to interact with on some level, have definitely influenced and encouraged this year’s journey. Holy fuck that sounded lame.  

What I’m tryin’ to say is, Happy New Years, and thank you for being a part of my writing life.  

      

14 thoughts on “A toast to You

  1. Happy New Year, Amuirin! And thank you so much not only for the support you’ve given me in 2007, but for writing such a wonderful and often inspiring blog!

  2. Happy 2008 to you, Amuirin. Your writing inspires, awes, and sometimes entirely overwhelms me.

    I want this year to be filled with magic for you. This is a somewhat selfish wish because I can well imagine how brilliantly you will translate that magic into writing and I look forward to reading it.

    You paint with words, Am. At least that’s how it seems in my head and heart when I read your words.

    So, you know, holy fuck…Happy New Year!

  3. I always think of the new year as being March, when spring has sprung. :) Though my sister’s daffodils are bursting through already up in Portland, where the cold weather hasn’t even completely hit yet…

    Happy New Year. :)

  4. You obviously hit a cord in so many people. You are so genuine. It was a lucky day I happened on your blog. You are such a talented, original writer. Keep it up until we all meet you at your book signing. Meantime have an amazing new year!

Leave a Reply

