Hm.

Well. November is ‘National Novel Writing Month’.

And I do need to get down to it and at least *try* to attempt to write a lot of words that may or may not someday shape themselves into what might be construed as a related mass of thoughts with a beginning, a middle and an end. It’s time to write a book.

I write, and write. I write on topics eclectic and far-ranging. I fulfill projects other people dictate. I write here on this blog. I write contest articles in my spare time.

But a novel… my own. Why can’t I ever seem to start?

Update: Actually, I know the answer to that one.

I sense that the effort will be just that, an effort. The foundation of the story will be too sparse and anticlimactic for all those words; the inner drama and emotion will make a mountain out of a molehill. My words will be lyrical enough that those close to me will admire the turns of phrase and may not know how to tell me what’s wrong with it.

The finished product will be ludicrous and self-indulgent. It will represent wasted time.

And wasting time seems to be okay with me if I’m not *trying* to produce something.

My real question, the one I don’t already know the answer to is this: Do alfalfa sprouts have any nutritional value to speak of? Or are they just sandwich-filler fluff?

They look like lettuce sperms.

8 thoughts on “Hm.

  1. I know those reasons pretty well. They are related to the same reasons I don’t do something, whether it’s writing, doing something with my photographs, etc.

    Lettuce sperms…lol! They have some nutritional value. Fiber, vitamin C, and some other stuff I can’t remember.

  2. Wow…you’re going to be busy. Go for it though. Even if it’s self indulgent crap (which I highly doubt) it will still be done, and you’ll have something to work with. :)

  3. J- That’s a good point. Just having material to improve on and spring from can be huge. A ‘working manuscript’ I think they call it.

    Corina- Boy, that alfalfa, he’s promiscuous.

    pmousse- Just do it! Yes. Right.

    How might one start, just out of curiosity? I suppose ‘Once upon a time’ is a bit outdated.

    ybonesy- lol, oh definitely. I’ll probably post on it more than I’ll write the actual thing. Lettuce seem to lead very boring existences. Nice to think they might have a little fun.

    Robin- Yeah, read this today and went, ‘urgh, what doom and gloom’. Like pmousse said, sometimes you gotta stop thinking and ‘just do it’.

    Hope you enjoyed safe travel.

  4. Oh! Is this when that “write a novel in a month” or whatever contest goes on each year? I’ve always wanted to try it but I’m too lazy, and I’m prety sure I’d be a shit novel writer. Maybe a novel made up of short stories, though…

Leave a Reply

