Trick or Treat 411; the candy informational

Found this article about what the treats you dispense tonight say about you. This is the pop-psychology behind your candy. Like astrology charts and the monthly horoscopes in Cosmo magazines, this is a loose guide that is likely preposterous bullshit. Enjoy.

What do the ‘treats’ you give on Halloween say about you?

goodies.jpg

If you give out-

3 Musketeers: Does well in groups but is somewhat pompous. Prone to fancy costumes and arcane weapons. Wears hats in public that are ill-advised.
Created in 1932 by Mars, the candy bar got its name because it originally had three pieces in one packet: vanilla, strawberry and chocolate. * The Fun Size (15 grams) has 63 calories.

Almond Joy: These folks are happy-go-lucky.
Introduced in 1946 by the Peter Paul Candy Manufacturing Co. in New Haven, Conn. It’s a companion to the Mounds bar, which arrived in 1920. *The snack size (17 grams) has 80 calories.

Bit-O-Honey: They have contradictory personalities, hoping to express generosity but also having the passive-aggressive desire to damage the fillings of trick-or-treaters.

The honey-flavored taffy was first manufactured in 1924 by the Schutter-Johnson Co. of Chicago. It is now made by Nestle.
*One piece (7 grams) has 26 calories.

Butterfinger: Evasive, slippery, not necessarily to be trusted.

Invented in 1923 by the Curtiss Candy Co. of Chicago. The crunchy bar wrapped in chocolate is now made by Nestle.
*The Fun Size (18.5 grams) has 85 calories.

Candy Corn: Purely deluded people. They don’t get that candy shouldn’t attempt to imitate other food groups, particularly corn.

Invented in the 1880s, it was first manufactured commercially by the Wunderle Candy Co. in Philadelphia and by the turn of the century at the Herman Goelitz Candy Co. in Cincinnati.
*A serving of 22 pieces (40 grams) has 140 calories, or 6.4 calories per piece.

Good & Plenty: Optimistic, perhaps overly so. A little bit of Weimar energy. Strong advocate of gay rights; acquainted with the bitterness at the center of most lives.

The licorice candy was first produced in 1893 by the Quaker City Confectionery Co. in Philadelphia and is considered the oldest branded candy in the country. *A serving of 33 pieces (39 grams) has 140 calories, or 4.2 calories per piece.

Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups: Generous souls. Those who understand the salty in life, as well as the sweet.

Created by Harry Burnett Reese in the 1920s. Reese was a former dairy employee of Milton Hershey, founder of the Hershey Co. In 1963, the Reese candy company was sold to Hershey for $23.5 million.
*A one-cup package (21 grams) has 110 calories.

Snickers:Just going with the crowd, the safe candy choice, guaranteed to please the masses. Not ambitious, but dependable.

Created in 1930 by Mars, Snickers bars sold for a nickel. The Fun Size was introduced in 1968.
*The Fun Size (17 grams) has 80 calories.

Twix: Both brittle and supple in social situations; sort of trapped between personality types.

A Mars product, caramel-and-cookie Twix bars were created in the United Kingdom in 1967 but weren’t sold in the United States until 1979. *The Fun Size (16 grams) has 80 calories.

Twizzlers: Sickos. Truly demented. Plastic people living plastic lives.
The Twizzlers brand was introduced in 1929. The red licorice strips are manufactured by Y&S Candies, a company established in 1845 that is now a Hershey subsidiary. *The snack size (14 grams) has 37 calories.

Okay, now I found another that says what your favorite candy bar says about you. I wanted to apply them, so I assigned a favorite candy-bar to you guys at random. Tell me if I’m right. Maybe psychic abilities can develop late in life.

wonka_wilder.jpg

Aos, fish & StevoSnickers: A thoughtful person who carefully weighs each option before making decisions, you have your feet solidly grounded on earth. A natural problem solver, you provide help and support to others, even at the cost of your own desires. While analytical in the work-place, you have a strong aesthetic sensibility, and take delight in the beauty life has to offer. Sometimes stubborn and inflexible, you are nonetheless always willing to offer a helping hand.

Slothboy & RTDKit-Kat: Competitive and accomplished; no victory is sweet without a little hard work. You are competent and ambitious in both your professional and personal life. You sometimes suffer from tunnel vision, and can become too wrapped up in a specific pursuit, but you are generous with your time and money, never taking your blessings for granted.

Corina, Other David & PamplemousseReeses Peanut Butter Cups: A rich, indulgent favorite, you tend to be a balanced mixture of charm and practicality. While gently engaging in social situations, you are more pragmatic and goal-oriented in your life views. You enjoy being catered to, and appreciate the finer things in life. You are very sensitive to minor slights and respond best to encouragement rather than criticism.

Ombudsben & BibliomomRootbeer Barrels: A deceptively sophisticated choice, this is a lover of fine art, literature and history. You thrive in a more complex environment, and usually have the time to devote whenever friends or family needs you. You are a lover of travel, good wine, and great conversation. Some would tag you ‘absent-minded’, but yours is just a mind in concentration.

Robin, Lilli & ybonesyJelly Bellies: Vivid. Always able to see the humor in a situation, and willing to share what you love with those around you. You are known for your laugh. Emotionally expressive and idealistic, you set high goals for yourself, and push yourself to meet and exceed them. Your frequent highs are tempered with bouts of quiet melancholy and prolonged periods of solitude can make you gloomy. Your mood lifts immediately when someone makes you laugh.

Teaspoon & JaynovaMilky Way: Health-conscious and compassionate, you are incredibly sensitive to other people’s pain. You tend toward perfectionism, and sometimes keep your own counsel in situations where it would be easier to share. You have an ingrained sense of responsibility to the environment, to your family and to others. When you let your hair down, you’re the life of the party.

Molo & David B.- Sixlets: You like to mix things up a little. You tend to challenge those around you, and your intensity can scare others off. You have a quick sense of humor and a willingness to listen to opposing points of view. You are an intensely private person, despite the outgoing, and sometimes aggressive facade.

Ed & JulesM&M’s: You thrive in the life of the mind. Your wheels are always turning. You are easy-going, and sometimes completely unaware of your surroundings. Life is always a new discovery, and you extend honest interest to every new person you meet. You enjoy sharing your thoughts, and even when others try to provoke you to anger, you are rarely offended. There are too many amazing things in life to discover to let other people bring you down.

23 thoughts on “Trick or Treat 411; the candy informational

  1. Pingback: The Reluctant Optimist

  2. I found this to be enormously entertaining. I loved Reese’s when I was in college, but now that I have access to snooty candy, I hardly ever eat anything that isn’t incredibly dark and bitter. However, I can’t deny that in my shameful past, I was a Reese’s junkie. One of the best things about that particular candy is that they’re very easy to share, due to the way they’re packaged. I don’t like to break things apart to share them; it always seems so violent and messy.

    It is possible that my past Reese’s addiction was directly related to a peculiarity of the candy vending machine in my dorm — every fifth or sixth purchase, it would get confused and give you more change than you had originally spent to buy your candy. Sometimes it would give as much as five dollars. It was a combination vending machine/slot machine, I guess, though as far as I know there was no legal gambling in Ohio at that time.

  3. Hm. My favorite is Reeses peanut butter cups. Reading the descriptions though I think I’m a “jelly bellys” kinda person.

    It’s all about the laughs.

  4. Pingback: goodies.jpg · Wine Database

  5. Fascinating.

    You are eerily good at this, A. Jelly Bellies rule. :)

    Would it ruin my reputation if I admitted that I like candy corn? It’s not a candy I give out to the trick-or-treaters (probably because I save it all for myself).

  6. ugh, here i am trying to break away from the internet again (failed mission, time to run away all out now)and you mention me in a blog. how nice, i’ll stick around and read! ;) i’d say the description is fitting, thank you. not to toot my own horn, but i am also the most chilled out person in real life that one would ever meet. no lie. i got rid of the happy-go-lucky, a couple years back. unfortunately for me i do find myself giving too much and not taking anything. but once again, thanks for the mention. that was might cool of you. oh, and i always get in trouble for smiling too much, have my whole life. and as for snickers, old school, just like me.

  7. As I read this, I am nibbling on a Ghirardelli Intense Dark 60% Cacao Mint Bliss chocolate bar. But actually, I don’t much care for dark chocolate, I just feel as though I ought to like it. I’d rather eat cheap Halloween-y candy, but only buy it on road trips. I used to like Milky Ways a lot when I was growing up, but now, as far as cheap candy is concerned, prefer Snickers. Almond Snickers. King-Size Almond Snickers. They were my daily fuel on my PCT hike last year. Way way better than Clif bars.

    Oh. But I’m a Milky Way. The description sounds as though it fits me pretty well, up until the last paragraph. Although I have known to get pretty wild and crazy with many drinks in me, those days are becoming more and more rare.

  8. I loved the description you chose for me (and grouping me with David and Corina — there’s a threesome I could get into), and I think it suits me best, even though I’m not a Reese’s fan. I love Kit Kat, but my all-time favourite is M&M’s. I’m not consistent in what I give out on Halloween… sometimes I try to get creative and give out non-food items, like colourful pencils… but apparently, according to my kids, that sucks.

  9. Rootbeer barrells! LOL. Well, I’m not sure about the lover of great wine part, but regarding being absent-minded, and a mind in concentration, umm — Are there any peanut butter cups left? Errr …

    what was I saying?

  10. Jelly Bellies do rock, and what do you want to bet that if we did an astrological overlay on this, the Jelly Bellies would be predominantly Gemini and Libra?

    If I’m hankering for chocolate, I have to go with Milky Ways. Thank you for steering me clear of Root Beer barrels 8).

  11. Hm. Some right, some wrong… I guess I’m still not psychic.

    David- Yeah, I like snooty candy too, though not so much the dark, dark stuff. That gave me a chuckle, ‘combination vending/slot machine’. Good litmus test for the day, too I suppose.

    Slothboy- Well, zero out of 2 ain’t bad. Wait a sec, yes it is! Like so many horoscope kinda things, I thought there was a little in each of these that could fit me, cus they were general enough.

    Lillipilli- You get an A for effort. The last time I did a tummy crunch, I don’t think I needed to, yet. Y’know, like age 12.

    Robin- Nope, as long as you don’t give it out, yer safe under the Candy Quirk Act of 1962.

    fish- Curses! foiled again.

    teaspoon- as I read that, I begin to forget my promise not to poison myself with sugar again today. I know what you mean about the dark chocolate. It seems like the posh kind of chocolate, but deep down I always long for the sweeter, nicer, milk chocolate.

    pmousse- *tries not to comment on your comment about ‘threesome’*

    *fails, miserably*

    ombudsben- now if they’d just develop a candy with ginkgo biloba in it. ;)

    stevo- no candy? no candy whatsoever? not even little, cute ones?

    Paul- hi Paul! I’ll add you under Reeses, and everyone will think I was psychic about it. Except I guess the comments just blew that out of the water.

    ybonesy- you mean geminis and libras would be the real ones who loved jelly bellies, or the ones I chose who loved jelly bellies? If you’re a gemini that’s 1/3rd right. I love jelly bellies too, but I’m an aquarius. We love everything,… for a little while.

    Robin- my daughter’s Sagittarius too.

    She likes hotdogs. If she likes anything else right now, there’s been no supporting evidence.

  12. Kinda fun. Y’know, some of those we don’t get up here at all. Root Beer Barrells? We do get Snickers and I have been known to partake but all in all I’m more of a Baker’s Chocolate guy. Or real licorice….

Leave a Reply

