Soaked in Red

And here it is, the sunday song compilation. The theme this week is ‘Red’. This entry is posted in tandem with Ass of Steel’s video blog. Musical colors was his brain-child (I just hitched a ride).

Red! Lady in Red… A completely, utterly banal choice. So obvious. So literal. What a starter, but the truth is after how many years now? 21 years since it’s first release, I still love this song. I do. I get a thrill and go into a sort of romantic reverie whenever I hear it play on the radio. Chris DeBurgh achieved greatness with this track. The video I chose is done in sepia, no red to speak of. At least that part won’t be predictable.

Red Hot Chilli Peppers: Soul to Squeeze. Simply my favorite song by the red hot band. That’s saying something when you consider such hits as ‘Under the Bridge‘.

Pink is technically a variation on red, so. This group, Pink Martini, is big in the Portland metropolitan area, and have sold over a million albums world wide. Are they a band? A symphony? What is their genre? I think they’d hafta be lumped under ‘world music’ because their stuff is so eclectic. I feel some connection to this band because I once spent a very enjoyable afternoon in a workshop headed by drummer Doug Smith. He got all 22 of us doing some very complicated, interwoven rhythms together by the end. It was the highlight of a three day training retreat for Americorps. Pink Martini’s rendition of ‘Que Sera Sera’-

A bodice ripper tune: Past the mission. This is a song taken from the Tori Amos album ‘Under the Pink’. I thought it was haunting the first time I heard it, and later I got a gander at the lyrics. Highly provocative. This song is sordid; secretive. Watch her, watch her play. She’s totally whacked, Tori is. It’s hypnotic.

In a music compilation to come, I discuss Annie Lennox who doesn’t seem to mind if her theatrics make you uncomfortable. The difference? Tori Amos isn’t acting. Look at her eyes glow, she’s exactly this crazy. I’ve never bothered to learn her back-story; the twisted tales that her music tells are more than story enough. I don’t wish to disappoint my imagination in this case with something truthful.

Finally, this was a random find in my search for decent red tunes. The group is ‘The Hush Sound’, and the song is ‘Wine Red’. First listen I kind of shrugged, but there was something really compelling about the bass guitarist, Chris Faller. The three seconds of footage devoted to him whet my appetite, so I gave it another listen. The tune is catchy, and the female component of the quartet, Greta Salpeter, is just spunky enough to carry it off. I’m officially dubbing this band ‘up and comers’, cus I think we might just hear more from them.

p.s. Hush, if yer listening… needs more bass!

5 thoughts on “Soaked in Red

  1. Whilst I can’t claim to love all of the above, the variety of music intrigues me at the very least, that can be terribly hard to do for someone as easily distracted as I.

    Also, bodice ripper?

  2. I’m really feeling the Hush Sound song! That’s great and I completely agree with you on having a bit more bass. Mmmmhmmmmm.

    Also, I’m a huge fan of Tori Amos, she terrifies me too.

    This was fun. Thanks for letting me play with you guys.

  3. Great choices, although in a post about color, it’s funny that you chose a black and white video for the RHCPs.

    I’ve seen Tori live 5 or 6 times, and she’s definitely that crazy. It’s too bad her music went downhill after Choir Girl Hotel.

  4. Oh I used to be disgusted
    and now I try to be amused.
    But since their wings have got rusted,
    you know, the angels wanna wear my red shoes.
    But when they told me ’bout their side of the bargain,
    that’s when I knew that I could not refuse.
    And I won’t get any older, now the angels wanna wear my red shoes.

    Red shoes! The angels wanna wear my red shoes.
    Red shoes! The angels wanna wear my red shoes.

Leave a Reply

