Ambivalence Central

I woke up deliciously late, for me, and turned on the t.v. to see what was on while I ate breakfast. It’s saturday morning, so what’s on is a lot of cartoons. I landed on channel 8, and discovered that ‘Veggie Tales’, those chorally inclined, spiritual produce characters, have made their way from video and movies onto television.

We have some of their videos, and I always kind of enjoy them. But I watched mainly so I would know what to be offended by: Either because they were giving christian Sunday school lessons during saturday morning cartoons, or because they’d taken the heart and soul out of the show to pander to the mainstream. I didn’t know which of these it would be, but I was fully prepared to be offended in either direction.

Turns out they sold out to reach a wider audience. It’s kind of a bummer. Larry the cucumber seems eerily Sponge Bob like, without the spiritual anchorage. Oh well.

Yesterday I first saw the dancing filipino prisoners on Yahoo. Have you heard of this yet? A prison in the Philippines is having the prisoners learn dance routines for physical fitness, because everyone was rejecting calisthenics. Some people think this is wrong, especially now that the videos have gotten so popular. They consider making captives dance kind of like turning them into trained monkeys.

On the other hand, I’ve seen the videos and I could swear some of those people are having a hell of a lot of fun. They’re also pretty good. I don’t know if I’m supposed to be offended but I found the spectacle actually kind of inspiring. So here’s their version of ‘Thriller’, you decide.

7 thoughts on “Ambivalence Central

  1. My kids went to a neighbours and watched organic food propaganda on youtube. After taking them to see some Shakespeare last night, things here are distinctly peculiar: “thy Vegan meat hast flavour most distinctly different from the body of thy cow.”

    Yeah that’s a tangent and it is all about me. Veggie tales called it back to the top of my mind. Temporal proximity meant it was only two levels down anyway. It might have come out no matter what you wrote.

  2. I’m going to come back and look at the video when I have some sound.

    Not having small children at home (and not seeing my granddaughter nearly as often as I’d like), I’m not familiar with Veggie Tales. I’ve heard of them, but haven’t experienced them.

  3. My top 5 Veggie Tales Songs.
    5. The Hairbrush Song
    4. The Water Buffalo Song
    3. I Love My Lips
    2. His Cheeseburger
    1. The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything

    Love that version of Thriller. Those prisoners are talented!

  4. I can’t find it now. I looked. I promise. We love Veggie Tales. I used to watch them in college because they made me laugh and I liked what they were doing. When they came to TV I had questions about how that would be possible given the Christian goal of the series. I read a satement from them about it and that’s what I can’t find now. The gist of it was that they felt like there was an opportunity to teach kids about morality and Christian values and they believed that was important, even if they couldn’t talk about God specifically. They also felt like kids would go looking for the videos if they liked the show on TV and would then have access to the full meal deal.

    so yes, the show is watered down but I guess it’s ok, given the limitations of television.

    as far as “selling out,” well, they’ve never offered their videos for free anyway and I’m sure they have not been hurting for cash for some time.

Leave a Reply

