19 million dollar toilets, but hey… you can drink it

NASA buys $19 million toilet system
Thu Jul 5, 10:06 PM ET

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla. – In space, a loo costs a lot.

NASA has agreed to pay $19 million for a Russian-built toilet system for the international space station. The figure may sound astronomical for a toilet in space, but NASA officials said it was cheaper than building their own.

“It’s akin to building a municipal treatment center on Earth,” NASA spokeswoman Lynnette Madison said Thursday, explaining the cost of the new toilet system.

Also, astronauts are familiar with how it works since it’s similar to one already in use at the space station. The new system will be able to transfer urine to a device that can produce drinking water.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Yum, yum. I bet freeze-dried asparagus just went right off their menu.

11 thoughts on “19 million dollar toilets, but hey… you can drink it

  1. Pingback: IPO - Initial Public Offering Blog » Blog Archive » 19 million dollar toilets, but hey… you can drink it

  2. The Russians are crazy. They should have sold to the highest bidder. I’d be willing to pay $20 million of somebody else’s money to be able to pee in space.

  3. B&s. – if there isn’t, we should create a market on E-bay for space pee. *schemes and plots*

    Mountain Dew would give it that slightly fluorescent, space-explorer quality. Drink up, you guys. We’ll make a killing.

  4. Robin: Asparagus is yummy.

    Perhaps we could sell asparagus bubble tea.

    I don’t like Mountain Dew. Maybe that’s just ’cause I don’t really like fizzy drinks. Perhaps if I let it go flat it would be OK.

  5. Robin- I would think so… I can’t even imagine drinking water if I knew it had been through those stages. :)

    Bongo- I like asparagus too, but asparagus bubble tea sounds icky. With or without the fizzy.

  6. That was rather the point of selling the asparagus bubble tea. I don’t want to have any myself and I want other people to pay me money. That would be killing two birds with one stone.

Leave a Reply

