The Reasoning Rollercoaster

You know, my week has been one miserable, shitty-ass week.

That’s a horrible way to start a blog! On the bright side, it can only go uphill from here, y’know?

Hi, hi! This is it, the collaborative venture, the opening drum roll, the cut-the-ribbon ceremony. I really am glad for each and every contributor who said, “Sure, I’ll throw words your way..” at whatever pace they wanted to. I can’t wait for you to meet each other, ‘cus he’s so awesome, and she’s so funny and she’s so smart.

But back to me.

Gaza. Duuudes. What? What the hell? I mean you’re always waiting for some hell to break loose over there so it’s been almost anticlimactic, at least my reaction has. That’s not real respectful of the people and their plight, but my goodness. When you see ‘Abbas’ in the news, isn’t it hard to separate that from the band ‘ABBA’? Now I’m even more confused, because Abbas is denouncing Hamas, and that seems like something Bono would do, so now the band ABBA has this U2ian humanitarian slant in my head, and I just really need to see the news with pictures.

Not that fox and CNN and MSNBC ever seem to tell me anything I want to know. If I wanna hear about the election, it’s all Paris, all the time. But if I want to hear about the world detonating little by little a half a globe away, they can only talk about Obama and some stupid memo.

I. Don’t. Care.

Do you think it’s getting harder and harder to make people care?

I will not tie this into personal shit. I will not tie this into..

But, just cus it’s a little relevant …( I do apologize) this must be observed and noted: How the heck do married people do it? How do you continue after 10, 20, 30 years of marriage to still get along? To still like each other?

I’ve never been in a relationship that made it more than two years, and at the end of the two year ones, it was really, really bad. Awful. Brr. Like, the gap between how much he/she cared about the other’s every word had deteriorated into a tangled battle of horrific communication. Extreme sports communication. Every sentence was a potential all night argument, every topic a pending knife in the throat.

I’m really bad at relationships.

See how I segued foreign conflicts into me, there? This happens a lot.

It’s hard to be involved in either a budding romance or a declining romance and not be self-involved to a point. I wonder if the plateau is any better. That’s something I’ve never experienced.

So like, Texas, right? Scary ass and funny place, Texas. That comedian, Ron White of the Blue Collar Comedy Tour, I think he embodies Texas really well in his comedy routine when he says, “Other states are tryin’ to abolish the death-sentence, …here in Texas, we’re putting in an Express Lane.”

So how does one take the latest big news story out of Texas? Here’s the headline:
Crowd kills man after car hits child.

AUSTIN, Texas – Police on Wednesday were pleading for witnesses to help them track down members of an angry mob that beat a man to death after the car he was riding in apparently struck and injured a child.

Investigators were struggling to piece together what happened Tuesday when David Rivas Morales died defending the driver from members of a crowd leaving a Juneteenth celebration. There could have been anywhere from two to 20 attackers, Austin Police Commander Harold Piatt said.

The car in which Morales, 40, was a passenger had entered an apartment complex’s parking lot when it struck a 3- or 4-year-old child, Piatt said. The child was taken to a hospital with non-life-threatening injuries.

The driver got out of the car to check on the child and was confronted by several people, Piatt said. When they attacked the driver, Morales got out of the car to protect the driver and was attacked as well. Police said no guns or knives were used.

The driver got away and is cooperating with investigators, who are not releasing his name.

Margaret Morales said a young boy came to her door to tell her that her brother was lying on the ground outside. She found David Morales, sprawled on the pavement 100 feet from her townhouse, battered and choking on blood.

****************************************************

Sorry, so not cheery.

Communities should take care of children. Definitely. People should be eachother’s care-takers, you know life isn’t worth livin’ without the milk of human kindness, to go all Vonnegut on your ass.

And I believe that, too. Without caring there is nothing really worthwhile about this shit-hole we call life.

But the execution… oh, bad word, but the execution of heartfelt concern is important.

So those people were angry, yeah. But they stopped being individuals and became an angry mob. An angry mob is a weird entity. It doesn’t reason. It doesn’t excuse. When people conform in that manner, in the heat of emotion or even in the cold, calculated decision to go along for convenience sake, they give away a part of their own humanity.

Once you start doing that, I think it becomes easier and easier to do it.

This scares the piss out of me. I mean when I take the long view, the societal view. Even the individual view, I’ll admit. It’s hard to ram your thumb into your own chest and say, “I gave up my reason today and became a slavering, murderous beast.”

I mighta, though.

Individually, not collectively. It isn’t that life has brought me to this point, it’s that I let myself get there.

I feel sorry for those people responsible for the death of an innocent man. Maybe they thought they were doing right, attacking a man who ran into a child? There’ll be no discussing it with the victim in the scenario. He won’t weigh in. Intention doesn’t mean a thing to his family, friends and co-workers. He’s just gone.

Giving up compassion, communication, reason… even for a moment- that’s a line never worth crossing.

5 thoughts on “The Reasoning Rollercoaster

  1. I heard your Texas story years ago, except it happened in Africa, witnessed by a friend of mine who was working there. So we’re finally catching up to the third world. . .

    According to Neil Postman, a noted (and unfortunately now deceased) sociologist, it’s mostly because of television. He doesn’t demonize TV, just explores the ways in which is has changed society, including things like news broadcasts. Your perception that you never learn anything from them is right on, and it’s deliberate.

    About relationships: Number one most important thing to my way of thinking (actually numbers 1 and 2)–1) find someone who shares your values; 2) find someone who laughs at the same things you do. If you share a sense of the absurd with someone, it’s difficult to stay mad for very long.

  2. You’re so right about laughter, a shared sense of the absurd seems to be like flexible glue for everything from love to friendship.

    I’d be interested to read more on the Neil Postman stuff. Time to google.

  3. Oh my goodness but I do find your rambling to be charming. You remind me of someone: me. And, being one of those entities with an ego of just the right size, that’s the best thing that I can say. And, now back to me. I’ve thought some of those thoughts too. One of the things I’ve done about one of those thoughts is completely stopped watching broadcast TV. I don’t watch it at all. Not only does that mean that I don’t spend any time being bored or irritated at the TV, it means that I don’t have to pay money to have something that I don’t want delivered to my house via coaxial cable. All in all, it is a great treat.

    By the way, as the first commenter on this post with the lovely name said, I don’t think TV is pure evil from beyond the depths of some deep evil place. I just don’t have any place for it in my life. And, following you, I think I’ll now type Neil Postman into a search engine.

  4. bongo- why, thank you- I had to go look you up after you said this reminded you of you. You can definitely out-digress me, I enjoyed the titanic tangents. Keep expecting your stick fella to start tap-dancing, though, like a character in a flip-book.

  5. You are more than welcome. I rather like the idea of using an animated GIF for my icon but I’m a bit spazzy at making such things. I’ve added you (a perfect stranger) to my RSS and am expecting that in the near future, I’ll have a fair bit of fun digging through your old posts. That won’t be today though. Today, I have the distinct pleasure of volunteering at sports day at an inner city school.

    I think I may get a free hot dog out of it. I hope it doesn’t give me indigestion. Perhaps I won’t eat it. Perhaps I’ll just walk home and eat there instead.

Leave a Reply

