Pancakes

Ingredients: 1 cup of flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 egg
buttermilk
vegetable oil or bacon fat (not a heart healthy option but more authentic)

Put skillet on burner, heat on medium or just over medium.

Sift flour into bowl with baking soda, add salt, combine dry ingredients. Pour buttermilk over ingredients (just some. No exact amount) and let sit for a couple minutes. Do not stir.

Use a pastry brush to apply vegetable oil to skillet. If using bacon grease, cook pancakes after cooking bacon. Drain some of the excess fat into a container and add to pan as needed.

Add egg to mixture, stir with whisk (bubbles important). Add buttermilk until consistency is about like cake batter. Do not over stir.

Pour small amount of batter on skillet and flip when popping the bubbles in batter leaves an indent.

Serve warm. I like homemade jam but my daughter insists upon maple syrup.

10 thoughts on “Pancakes

  1. My oldest granddaughter likes honey on her pancakes.

    For many, many years I would not eat pancakes. When I was somewhere around 5 or 6 years old my parents and grandparents took me to Niagara Falls. We had pancakes for breakfast before the drive back home. I must have gotten carsick but I blamed it on the pancakes and wouldn’t eat them anymore. I started eating them again a few years ago.

    My husband would make blueberry pancakes every Sunday for himself and our sons. It was a big ritual and the boys (now men) have taken the ritual with them into their own families. They all like maple syrup on their pancakes. We usually buy the local maple syrup. Most people don’t know that Ohio has some great maple syrup.

  2. Robin- I didn’t know Ohio had great syrup, learn something new everyday. ;)

    I love the blueberry pancake ritual. Don’t know if you could ever *love* pancakes after that experience but if you could, this recipe will get you there. It’s my great-grandmother’s, and she was famous for them. ;)

  3. I’m going to give this a try, but I’m almost positive it won’t come out as good as yours cuz I tend to cook out of necessity and not with love or joy.

  4. I’ve recently started to make flaxmeal pancakes, having sworn off wheat for a variety of reasons too boring to go into here. There’s something about pancakes that’s just inherently self-indulgent … the very idea of them whispers “weekend” even in at 6 AM on a Wednesday. This curious mystique adheres even to pancakes made with flax and pumpkin.

  5. I feel so inadequate. I only make pancakes with Bisquick. At least I learned early on Bisqick works better than pancake mix. That’s the extent of my pancake expertise. I’ll just come to your house for pancakes. :-)

  6. I make pancakes all the time. Usually for the kids on Sunday morning. I have been known to use bisquick as well. As to what to put on top of the pancakes? Well I use butter to lube the griddle so I don’t use any on the pancakes when I eat them. Sometimes I like a light coat of peanut butter and a berry jam but usually I use a berry Syrup. Most likely suspect is boysenberry. You can usually find these on the top shelf of the syrup isle. Its a little spendier than the regular syrup but since the wife and kids just normally use maple it last a while.

  7. I use a version of this recipe (regular milk instead of buttermilk) but I keep a huge batch of the dry ingredients mixed up in a tub in the refrigerator, then when I get the time (or a wild hair, whichever comes first) I measure out approximately how much I want to make up, add an egg and then enough milk to moisten and it’s ready to go. It’s not rocket science each time but the pancakes turn out perfectly.

    Nice site, I am off to nose around….

  8. OK, made them this morning…I’ll never go back to Aunt Jemima! I don’t think I’ve ever made homemade pancakes before. Or if I did, I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

