Birthday Bits & Anhinga’s Meme

Look, a lengthy odds and ends post! This is like the unwieldy weekend edition of Stop & Wander. I just won’t charge a buck fifty for it.

Birthday Bits-

There were some fun things about Sierra’s b-day that I didn’t share in the last post cus I was in a more introspective, sentimental sort of mode. These are a bit less sentimental. Life tends to be, doesn’t it?

1) Most every year, I wake Si up at 2 a.m. on December 9th to tell her the story of her birth. That is the moment that she was born. We curl up together, and I tell her the story, then wish her a happy birthday and she goes back to sleep. For the most part, she has gotten sleepily into the spirit of our little ritual, but the year she turned six years old, she simply wasn’t having it. I attempted to rouse her from her uber slumber, and after several seconds she opened her eyes really wide and gave me  the most fiercely cranky expression ever composed on a six-year-olds features. She told me to “Go Away, Mama, I AM SLEEPING.” flipped over on her other side, and promptly fell back asleep. Since my startled laughter didn’t provoke the slightest reaction from her sleeping frame, I decided to give her a break, and we skipped the story telling that year. I have this to say for my child: She may be shy, and cute and little girl and everything, but she can put her foot down when the situation warrants.

2) Sierra’s b-day loot from her friends and family were replete with Littlest Pet Shop toys and these things called ‘Webkinz‘ (???). I often play littlest pet shop with her-those are the little Bobblehead critters, and they make good imagination aides. She has like a million of them, but one of the things she got, was a large (ugly) plush littlest pet shop with a code on its collar.

A code. That’s pretty much what the Webkinz were, too. They looked to be pretty plain and uninspired stuffed animals to me. The excitement generated by the kids at the party seemed to be over the code. You take this to the computer, enter the code in the Webkinz website, and- (this is copy from the site) “you enter Webkinz World where you care for your virtual pet, answer trivia, earn KinzCash, and play the best kids games on the net!”

So. It’s like a secret password to this virtual universe. We sure didn’t have that sort of thing when I was a kid. It disturbs me on some level that the idea of ‘virtually’ caring for a pet is exciting to children. The whole ‘sims’ bandwagon, where you do life-like things in a computer universe- that’s a bit bizarre, isn’t it? Real life chores becoming recreation in a digital environment. Er, k. The point of this virtual labor would be…?

Can’t really knock the modern toys too hard though- I still remember getting unbearably excited over My Little Ponies and Rainbow Brite

3) I told Sierra she could get any kind of cereal for her birthday breakfast. (We stick to the high-fiber goat-fodder sort of cereals usually, and try to steer clear of ‘junk’ brands. Which is nice, cus that means getting a junk cereal is sort of an occasion.) So Sierra told me she wanted Cocoa Puffs. Only, when I went to the store, I didn’t know if she said Cocoa Puffs or Cocoa Pebbles. It seemed to me she meant Cocoa Pebbles. I mean, it has a cute little red headed girl on the front, and the other one had a kooky-ass bird on it. I used my logic to deduce, since Sierra makes so many food decisions based on the visual, that it was probably Cocoa Pebbles she wanted, so that’s what I bought.

It is impossible for me to convey the degree of reproachfulness my daughter mustered in both look and tone when she informed me with sorrowful disappointment, ‘I said Cocoa Puffs. You bought Cocoa Pebbles. I don’t LIKE Cocoa Pebbles.’

I really wanted to know how she knew she didn’t like Cocoa Pebbles. She only really knew she liked Cocoa Puffs because she had it at one of her friend’s houses where they exercise an open door policy toward junk cereal. My theory was she probably never tried Cocoa Pebbles, and would like it a whole lot if she just gave it a chance. I had her try them, even though she didn’t want to. That’s right, I made my daughter try a sugary bowl of chocolate flavored rice detritus. I’m sorta stubborn sometimes.

She’s *more* stubborn. I maintain that she was unfairly predisposed to hate Cocoa Pebbles merely because they showed up to disappoint her when she was anticipating Cocoa Puffs. If you actually try Cocoa Puffs and Cocoa Pebbles, you’ll probably notice that Cocoa Pebbles are way, way better. And I’m not just saying that cus they have 3 grams of fiber and (bizarrely) several fewer grams of sugar per serving than Smart Start cereal.

Nope, not at all. I’m saying that because that kooky-ass bird looked triumphant when I went to go buy a box of his stupid cereal after striking out with the Cocoa Pebbles. I can’t stand a smug marketing gimmick, so henceforth, I simply hate, hate, hate Cocoa Puffs. 

Anhinga’s Meme

I don’t really know that this meme is Anhinga’s. She probably got it from someone else, but I got it from her so now it’s the Anhinga Meme. What you do is highlight in bold those things on the list that you’ve actually done. Interesting for me to see what anhinga had experienced, and kinda cool, too, to see what my tally was out of 100.

1. Started your own blog 

2. Slept under the stars
3. Played in a band (clarinet)
4. 
Visited Hawaii

5. Watched a meteor shower
6. Given more than you can afford to charity
7. Been to Disneyland 

8. Climbed a mountain
9. Held a praying mantis
10. Sang a solo (at church, while in highschool)

11. Bungee jumped 
12. Visited Paris (I wish)

13. Watched a lightning storm
14. Taught yourself an art from scratch (scrapbooking)

15. Adopted a child 
16. Had food poisoning
17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty
18. Grown your own vegetables

19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France
20. Slept on an overnight train

21. Had a pillow fight
22. Hitch hiked
23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill

24. Built a snow fort
25. Held a lamb
26. Gone skinny dipping
27. Run a Marathon (on purpose?)
28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice (someday)
29. Seen a total eclipse

30. Watched a sunrise or sunset

31. Hit a home run.
32. Been on a cruise
33. Seen Niagara Falls in person

34. Visited the birthplace of your ancestors
35. Seen an Amish community
36. Taught yourself a new language

37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied.
38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person
39. Gone rock climbing
40. Seen Michelangelo’s David

41. Sung karaoke. 
42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt
43. Bought a stranger a meal at a restaurant (homeless fella, hamburger)

44. Visited Africa 
45. Walked on a beach by moonlight
46. Been transported in an ambulance (but i wasn’t the injured one)
47. Had your portrait painted 
48. Gone deep sea fishing
49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person

50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris

51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling (snorkeling, Bahamas)
52. Kissed in the rain
53. Played in the mud

54. Gone to a drive-in theater
55. Been in a movie (do home movies count?)
56. Visited the Great Wall of China
57. Started a busines
58. Taken a martial arts class.
59. Visited Russia

60. Served at a soup kitchen

61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies 
62. Gone whale watching

63. Got flowers for no reason
64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma
65. Gone sky diving
66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp
67. Bounced a check

68. Flown in a helicopter
69. Saved a favorite childhood toy
70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial

71. Eaten caviar
72. Pieced a quilt

73. Stood in Times Square
74. Toured the Everglades 

75. Been fired from a job
76. Seen the Changing of the Guards in London
77. Broken a bone.
78. Been on a speeding motorcycle

79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person
80. Published a book (someday?)

81. Visited the Vatican
82. Bought a brand new car
83. Walked in Jerusalem
84. Had your picture in the newspaper

85. Read the entire Bible
86. Visited the White House
87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating. (with help)
88. Had chickenpox

89. Saved someone’s life.
90. Sat on a jury

91. Met someone famous
92. Joined a book club
93. Lost a loved one
94. Had a baby
95. Seen the Alamo in person 

96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake
97. Been involved in a law suit
98. Owned a mobile phone

99. Been stung by a bee
100. Read an entire book in one day (several times)

I think I my total was 48, but kinda went cross-eyed tryin’ to count them.

7 thoughts on “Birthday Bits & Anhinga’s Meme

  1. Why am I not surprised that you have hitch hiked and skinny dipped? :-)

    I have a Webkinz racoon. My granddaughters gave him to me and I have yet to register him. I’m waiting for the time we can sit down together and do it. They have such fun with them.

    Happy late birthday to Sierra.

  2. anhinga- *grins* I swear, the skinny-dipping wasn’t my idea. I had a friend in highschool, Norabelle, a natural born flirt who just seemed to have a proclivity to strip at the slightest provocation. We went on a double date, and she got us to go to ‘warm-waters’ (a pool where the water run-off from cooling pipes at a local factory made the water like a hot spring. I don’t want to know what kind of health horrors we were dipping into) and she was off with her clothes in the blink of an eye. Her boyfriend quickly followed suit.

    There we stood, me and my date… we’d only gone out like once before. In some situations it’s actually more awkward *not* to be the naked ones. So in we went, but maintained a healthy distance, talking politely to each other and trying to ignore the fact that we were both treading water completely nude.

    I wonder if Webkinz people can chat to their friends online? Sierra and I will hafta check this out.

    David- it was, it really was.

    Mad- Sacrilege!

  3. Well, your birthday tradition with Sierra is not just sweet…it is really wonderful. Kids love hearing the stories of their births. Although I have to say, my daughters would undoubtedly refuse to wake up at 2 in the morning, should they have been born at that hour.

  4. I agree, that is a sweet tradition with your daughter. One of these days (though it will probably come during waking hours) she’ll come to appreciate that ritual.

    As for the Cocoa Pebbles vs Cocoa Puffs? I’ll take the box of unused Cocoa Pebbles. Obviously, Sierra is not a fan of rice based cereals and simply prefers a rounder, grainier based cereal. Perhaps you can make cocoa rice crispy bars with the Pebbles. That should make her a convert.

Leave a Reply

