Proposition 8: You said ‘When’

Lazy Buddhist posted this on her blog, and I’m taking a page out of her book because I was moved, and I think Olbermann’s words made me truly consider what it means to take away someone’s right to marry.

Here’s the thing: I am not a vocal supporter of gay rights, never have been. I am not a hugely vocal supporter of much of anything, except a few local environmental issues. Nope, I’m a quiet advocate, and I think a lot of people in this country are the same way. We see people as people, and we are saddened by the discrimination, the efforts to create a perception of ‘us’ and ‘them’.

In personal ways we try to live so as to demonstrate acceptance to our children. I try and foster critical thinking so that when my kid comes up against an arbitrary line drawn by someone who says “This person is unacceptable, and they are bad”, hopefully she will have the skills to recognize this as nonsense, and to see that someone is trying to impose a value set on her that is not her own. She doesn’t have to accept it.

But you know-

there comes a time when the quiet have to speak; when people who weren’t looking for a conflict end up having one. And this issue has been taking on momentum with every measure designed to discriminate, with every special interest group who thinks the victories of this country’s history: Women’s liberation, racial equality, championship of the 1st amendment, the right to choose… groups that think these precedents won’t determine the outcome of yet another fight for human rights.

They are wrong.

In America, freedom prevails. The fight may be long. It may be a long time coming, but you- you who voted to support this measure, and countless other measures like it across the country, you who said, “We will make these people feel like less than us, because my way is superior, and they don’t *deserve* the things that I do”, you have chosen the time. And you have chosen the fight. And you have forced the issue. And now we will defeat you, because in America the rights to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness will always, always prevail.

11 thoughts on “Proposition 8: You said ‘When’

  1. Pingback: Today’s viral video « Trees and flowers and birds!

  2. Kind of amazing how a solidly blue state could actually pass a constitutional amendment to ban gay marriage. It’s like California took a big step forward (in overwhelming support for Obama) and a big step backward at the same time.

  3. The people who voted for Prop 8 in CA and Amendment 2 in FL have probably never heard the tears of a friend when she discovers her child is gay, or celebrated with another when her child and her partner welcomed new babies into their lives or had the wonderful gay angel that I now do. They would want for them what we have–surely they would.

  4. Right on, amuirin. Quiet advocacy can be and often is more effective than shouting. Of course, Keith Olbermann is one of the rare effective louder guys. I was touched by his poignancy in this commentary.

  5. Now that is one impassioned, powerful, moving video. And I like your take on it Am.

    Being ignorant of the system though I’m left wondering what practical steps have be taken to move on this? Surely it can’t be left in hiatus until the next election.

    This sort of grass roots advocacy seems a natural first step that can’t be ignored.

  6. That is just how I feel…we will get there, eventually, to the point where same sex marriages are ignored and taken for granted, just like my inter-racial marriage is today. People fought for my right to marry, though I did not know it at the time. I thank them, and I will pay it forward.

    To those who wonder what the next step is? At least for now, in California, there are already law suits challenging this amendment. It’s already in the courts. The discrimination in so many of our other states, I have not watched as closely.

  7. Pingback: Passing it on « Life in the Bogs

Leave a Reply

